It’s Not Happy People Who Are Thankful, It’s Thankful People Who Are Happy

It’s been really hard for me to accept, but the 9 weeks I started with when I began these posts have now dwindled down to the last 9 days of my maternity leave. I’ve been struggling to come up with a positive post, because even as I write this, my eyes are flooding with tears as I think about going back to work. Lately, I’ve been trying to turn my thoughts to my kids, and what I would like them to see in me as their role model. I decided that above all, I want to model confidence. I want my daughters to grow up seeing their mother talk positively about her appearance and body-image. I want them to know that it’s okay to try your hardest and do what you can even if it’s not your best every time. Last of all, I want my girls to see what a loving and healthy relationship looks like. This is a BIG goal, I know. It may not be realistic all of the time, but I’m going to do my best. One way I am able to rid some of my negativity and bring forth confidence in myself (and this may not be for everyone) is through writing. It can be a good way to release emotions and thoughts without taking them out on someone else. No, I have never written in a journal on a daily basis, however I have found that writing in times of stress and change is a great way to keep a positive attitude (hence this blog :)). I know I have so many things to be thankful for, so in the spirit of November and Thanksgiving I am jumping on the bandwagon and hoping to take a minute each day to keep a “Gratitude Journal.” I’ve found a couple of examples to help get me started, although any notebook could work when it comes to recording a positive thought about your day. Here is one that I like, that you may also find to be uplifting.

http://sagegrayson.com/free-printable-gratitude-journal/

I like this one because “The Morning Gratitude Prayer” forces you to begin each day on a positive note even if it means brainstorming 10 things you’re thankful for on the way to work each day instead of writing them down. I also like that the “What Am I Learning From My Challenges” section helps turn negative situations that may have happened that day into positive learning experiences. The section for “People I Am Thankful For” reminds us that there are people who care and are here to help. Finally, I love that “The Best Part of My Day” section lets you end each day with a positive thought.

Remember, it’s not happy people who are thankful, it’s thankful people who are happy. Keep a positive attitude :)!

Leave a Reply

