Back to School, Back to School to Prove…That I’m Not a Fool?

I have 63 days left. That’s 9 weeks. Until when, you ask? 63 days left until I hand over my two children (2 years old and newborn) to be cared for by someone I’ve just met. 63 days left until I forfeit my right to hold and nurse my baby, and surrender my body to a pump. 63 days left until my house permanently looks like a tornado went through it. 63 days left before I will be woken by an alarm set for 4:30 a.m. Just 9 short weeks before I will have to give up everything…to go back to work.

Hi. My name is Lydia and I am a mother of two enjoying the last 9 weeks of my maternity leave before heading back to my job as a preschool teacher. Like most moms, and probably those of you still reading, I often find myself struggling with the thought of returning back to work. I think to myself- How am I supposed to wake up at 4:30 a.m. and function until 10:00 p.m. on just a few precious hours of sleep? By the time I get home from work I will be so run-down that I won’t have energy to spend on what precious little time I have with my kids, or at least attentively. Not to mention I will be home at 4:00 most days, just in time to get dinner ready, wash all my pump parts and the baby’s bottles, prepare bottles for the next day, feed and bathe both children, maybe play a little, and then put both kids to bed by 7:00. If that’s not quality time, I don’t know what is (sense my sarcasm?). Oh, yea…I almost forgot to mention that the day won’t end there. I’ll spend at least a couple of hours each night preparing my lesson plans, responding to emails, working on professional development, and prepping dinner for the next day. Me time? What’s that? Bye-bye clean house. So long treadmill. I’ll finish reading my book….sometime…

I know I’m not the only mom out there who feels this way when it comes to leaving her children and the wonderful bubble we live in during those 9 precious weeks (or less) of maternity leave. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, my students, and the great group of woman and parents I have the pleasure of working with each day. I feel extremely blessed to have found my current job and wouldn’t trade it for any other. And my husband, who works from home, does more than his fair share to help take care of the kids during the week, get them to daycare, run errands, and take care of the maintenance around here. For him, I am extremely grateful! It’s the balance of life- work, a family, myself- that can sometimes be a struggle. That’s why I’ve decided to start this blog. I plan to use this blog therapeutically, if you will, to help heal the struggles and bring forth the positive aspects of being a “working mom.” Every week for the remainder of my maternity leave I will be posting a new and encouraging post about being a “working mom,” so grab your cup of coffee and read as you please :).

Leave a Reply

